Rugby Superstars Ascend on Washington, DC, for Premier Rugby Sevens Championship on Aug. 6

Men’s and Women’s Champions to be Crowned at Audi Field – anticipated event to be televised on YouTube and FS1

(WASHINGTON, DC, July 31, 2023) Premier Rugby Sevens (PR7s), the first league with women’s and men’s teams competing under one umbrella with equal pay, will host the 2023 PR7s Championship on Sunday, Aug. 6, from 3:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. ET. Audi Field will welcome some of the top global male and female players who will compete in single elimination 8-match championship tournament for a nationally televised audience.

The 2023 PR7s Championship tournament is the culmination of a season-long competition with eight franchises and 16 teams, who competed in a total of 32 regular season games since June. Half of the teams from the Western Conference and half from the Eastern Conference earned a spot to compete at Audi Field on Aug. 6.

Noteworthy PR7s stars competing in the PR7s Championship tournament with Olympic experience include:

  • DC-area native and University of Maryland graduate Abby Gustaitis (Southern Headliners women)
  • Olympic Gold Medalist Stacey Waaka (New York Locals women)
  • Madison Hughes (Rocky Mountain Experts men)
  • Kathryn Johnson (Rocky Mountain Experts women)
  • Matai Leuta (SoCal Rhinos x Loggerheads men)
  • Alev Kelter (Northern Loonies women)
  • Naya Tapper (Southern Headliners women)
  • Ben Pinkelman (Pittsburgh Steeltoes)

The men’s Texas Team also features New Zealander Rhodes Featherstone, who plays for the world-famous All-Blacks in his native country.

Schedule of events on Aug. 6:

PR7s Women’s Semifinals

  • 3:41 p.m. ET:  New York Locals vs. Southern Headliners
  • 4:06 p.m. ET:  Northern Loonies vs. Rocky Mountain Experts

PR7s Men’s Semifinals

  • 4:31 p.m. ET: Rocky Mountain Experts vs. SoCal Rhinos x Loggerheads
  • 4:56 p.m. ET: Texas Team vs. Pittsburgh Steeltoes

Fans can watch the semifinals live on YouTube starting at 3:30 p.m. ET via THIS LINK.

PR7s 3rd Place Matches:

  • 6:36 p.m. ET: losing teams from the women’s semifinals
  • 7:01 p.m. ET: losing teams from the men’s semifinals

PR7s Championship Finals:

  • 7:36 p.m. ET: winning teams from the women’s semifinals
  • 8:01 p.m. ET: winnings teams from the men’s semifinals

Fans can watch the finals live on FS1 starting at 6:30 p.m. ET via THIS LINK.